Advisers

Dr. Luiz F. de Alencastro - EPFL

Dr. Luiz F. de Alencastro is the former director of the Central Environmental Laboratory, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, a research and service laboratory dedicated to environmental analysis and molecular biology. His expertise includes:

- the development of analytical methods for the analysis of trace organic contaminants (in particular pesticides, halogenated compounds, personal care products, (pharmaceuticals),
- impact assessment of pollutants,
- the training of Environmental Engineers at EPFL.

He was the pioneer in the study of micro-plastics in the aquatic environment in Switzerland.Currently, he is working on the development of passive samplers to search for pollution sources in natural waters.
An important part of his work is oriented towards exchanges and the setting up of environmental analysis laboratories with emerging countries in South America, Africa and South-East Asia.

Dr. Jesús Gago - Spanish Institute of Oceanography

Dr. Jesús Gago is chemist and Ph. D. in Marine Science. Researcher in oceanography at IEO since 2007 (www.ieo.es), scientific coordinator of national and EU projects in the field of marine environment. He leads a team working in marine litter at IEO. Focal point for the MSFD (Marine Strategy Framework directive) process in descriptor 10 (marine litter) at the Spanish Ministry of Environment. Member of the GES/ TG Marine Litter (2012-actual) and the UNEP/MEDPOL expert Group on Marine litter (2014-2015) and invited (as chair, speaker,...) to meetings on marine litter, microplastics and related issues at national and international level.

Photo Cozar

Dr. Andrés Cozar – University of Cadiz

Dr. Andrés Cozar obtained his PhD degree in Ecology at the University of Cadiz (Spain) in 2003. Since 2005, he continues his career at the University of Cadiz as Professor at the Faculty of Marine and Environmental Sciences with a focus on oceanography and terrestrial ecosystems. His research tends to focus on large-scale data analysis, with emphasis on the societal challenges derived from the global change. From 2010, most of his research has addressed the marine plastic pollution issue, reaching high scientific impact and media coverage, including New York Times, BBC, Le Monde, Washington Post, Al Jazzera, National Geographic, or Forbes.

Pierre-Yves Jorand

Pierre–Yves Jorand, member of the team Alinghi

Pierre–Yves Jorand is a Swiss sailor. He is a member of the team Alinghi, winner of the America’s Cup in 2003 and 2007, first as technical coach and then as mainsail trimmer for the catamaran Alinghi 5. He also earned five victories at the Bol d’Or and three victories at the Challenge Julius Baer.

François Galgani

Dr. François Galgani – IFREMER

François Galgani is a French biologist oceanographer. Currently, he is a researcher at IFREMER, where he is specialized in evaluating the impacts of pollutants on marine organisms (ecotoxicology). Dr. Galgani is one of the most preeminent European researchers on marine plastic pollution.

pascal_peduzzi_s

Dr. Pascal Peduzzi – UNenvironment/GRID

Pascal Peduzzi is responsible for the “Global Change & Vulnerability” unit for the UN-envionment. He is the author of various scientific publications and contributes to numerous talks to governments and general audience to raise awareness on the consequences of human impacts on the environment.

Jean-Philippe Thiran

Prof. Jean-Philippe Thiran – EPFL/LTS5

Jean- Philippe Thiran is an associate Professor at the Signal Processing Laboratory 5 of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL). He is active in various areas of signal, image and multimodal data analysis with a particular interest in measuring and tracking plastic pollution in the ocean.

Conseillers

Dr. Luiz F. de Alencastro - EPFL

Le Dr. Luiz F. de Alencastro est l’ancien directeur du Laboratoire Central Environnemental, de l’Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, un laboratoire de recherche et de service dédié à l'analyse environnementale et à la biologie moléculaire. Son expertise comprend :

  • le développement de méthodes analytiques pour l'analyse des contaminants organiques traces (en particulier les pesticides, les composés halogénés, les produits de soins personnels, pharmaceutiques),
  • l’évaluation d'impact des polluants,
  • la formation des Ingénieurs en Environnement à l’EPFL.

Il a été le pionnier dans l’étude des micro-plastiques dans l’environnement aquatique en Suisse. Actuellement, il travaille dans le développement des échantillonneurs passifs pour la recherche de sources de pollution dans les eaux naturelles. Une partie importante de son travail est orientée vers des échanges et la mise en place de laboratoires d’analyse environnemental avec pays émergents en Amérique du Sud, en Afrique et en Asie du Sud-Est.

Dr. Jesús Gago - Centre Océanographique de Vigo

Le Dr. Jesús Gago a suivi une formation de chimiste avant d'obtenir un Ph.D. en sciences de la mer. Chercheur en océanographie à l'IEO (Institut Espagnol d'Océanographie) depuis 2007 (www.ieo.es), il dirige une équipe travaillant sur la problématique des déchets marins. Dans ce contexte, il est aussi coordinateur scientifique de projets nationaux et européens. On peut citer notamment son implication centrale dans le volet concernant les déchets marins de la Directive-Cadre sur la Stratégie Marine du Ministère Espagnol de l'Environnement. Jesús Gago est aussi membre du GES / TG Marine Litter (2012-actuel) et du groupe d'experts PNUE / MEDPOL sur les déchets marins (2014-2015) et invité (en tant que président, conférencier, ...) à des réunions sur les déchets marins, les microplastiques et les questions connexes au niveau national et international.

Photo Cozar

Prof. Andrés Cózar - Université de Cadix

Le Dr. Andrés Cózar a obtenu son PhD en Ecologie à l'Université de Cadix (Espagne) en 2003. Depuis 2005, il enseigne à la faculté des Sciences de la Mer et de l'Environnement de cette même Université où il se consacre à l'océanographie et étend son activité aux écosystèmes terrestres. Son domaine de recherche tend à se concentrer sur les analyses de données à grande échelle, en mettant l'accent sur les défis sociétaux dérivant du changement global. A partir de 2010, la majorité de ses recherches ont abordé la question de la pollution marine par le plastique, atteignant un impact scientifique élevé ainsi qu'une couverture médiatique importante, incluant le New York Times, la BBC, Le Monde, le Washington Post, Al Jazeera, le National Geographic ou Forbes.

Pierre-Yves Jorand

Pierre-Yves Jorand, marin, membre du team Alinghi

Pierre-Yves Jorand est un navigateur suisse. Coach technique d'Alinghi, le défi suisse à la coupe de l'America, de 2003 à 2007, il sera ensuite régleur de grand-voile sur le catamaran Alinghi 5 pour la coupe de l'America 2010. Il dispose d'autre part d'un superbe palmarès sur multicoques lémaniques avec notamment cinq victoires au Bol d'Or et trois victoires de saison au Challenge Julius Baer en Décision 35.

François Galgani

Dr. François Galgani - IFREMER

François Galgani est un océanographe biologiste français.
Actuellement chercheur à l'IFREMER, spécialisé dans l'évaluation des effets de la pollution sur les organismes marins (écotoxicologie), il est l’une des personnalités scientifiques européennes les plus reconnues concernant la pollution des mers par les plastiques.

pascal_peduzzi_s

Dr. Pascal Peduzzi - ONU environnement/Grid

Pascal Peduzzi est le responsable de l’Unité « Global Change & Vulnerability » au Programme des Nations Unies pour l'Environnement (ONU environnement) pour lequel il travaille depuis 1998. Il est l'auteur de diverses publications scientifiques et a donné de nombreuses conférences aux gouvernements et au grand public pour les sensibiliser aux conséquences des impacts humains sur l'environnement.

Jean-Philippe Thiran

Prof. Jean-Philippe Thiran - EPFL/LTS5

Jean-Philippe Thiran est Professeur Associé du Laboratoire de Traitement du Signal 5 (LTS5) de l’Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) en Suisse. Il a développé un fort intérêt pour l’utilisation de méthodes de traitement du signal pour la mesure de la pollution plastique des océans.